Special Education

Welcome! We hope that this site serves as an opportunity to share important information about the special education program in Darien. The Special Education Department in the Darien Public Schools adheres to the educational philosophy and mission of the district.

EDUCATIONAL PHILOSOPHY

Schools exist for children.

The mission of the Darien Public Schools is to work cooperatively with families and the community to provide for its students a safe, supportive, respectful, and intellectually challenging learning environment that promotes personal excellence through active, collaborative, and creative thinking and that stimulates individual development of the skills and integrity necessary to become productive members of society.


Ms. Shirley K. Klein, Assistant Superintendent of Special Education and Student Services
Tele. 203-656-7474
FAX: 203-656-7457
e-mail: ShKlein@darienps.org

Dr. Scott R. McCarthy, Program Director, K-12, Special Education and Student Services (SESS)
Tele. 203-656-7458
FAX: 203-656-7457
e-mail: SMcCarthy@darienps.org 

Ms. Shira Schwartz, Program Director, K-12, Special Education and Student Services (SESS)
Tele. 203-656-7452
FAX: 203-656-7457
e-mail: SSchwartz@darienps.org 

Ms. Laura Straiton, Program Director of Early Childhood, SESS
Tele. 203-656-7472
FAX: 203-656-7457
e-mail: LStraiton@darienps.org 

Special Education Student Services (SESS) Facilitators

Jamie Granite, Hindley Elementary School, JGranite@darienps.org,  203.655.1323 x4286

Joanne Vorndran, Holmes Elementary School, JVorndran@darienps.org,  203.353.4371 x4485

Marie Moore, Ox Ridge Elementary School, MaMoore@darienps.org,  203.655.2579 x4691

Mary Scalise, Royle Elementary School, MScalise@darienps.org,  203.655.0044 x4885

Susan Atkinson, Tokeneke Elementary School, SAtkinson@darienps.org,  203.655.9666 x4145


35 Leroy Avenue

Darien, CT 06820

 203.656.7421

 203.656.1959

 

News

Posted 12/12/2016 02:41PM
ELP Open Houses set for December 16th and December 20th.
Posted 09/22/2016 01:02PM

35 Leroy Avenue Darien, CT 06820     Phone: 203.656.7400     Fax: 203.656.3052
Privacy Policy

School Hours

Darien Public Schools
35 Leroy Avenue
Darien, CT 06801

Phone 203.656.7400
Fax 203.656.3052

Employment Opportunities

Learn about and apply for available jobs at Darien Public Schools.

 

Health Forms

Please visit the Health Services page for information and required student health and athletics forms.

 ASPEN

Darien is now using ASPEN, a secure Web-based information management system to collect contact and medical emergency information and for parents to request non-disclosure of directory information for students.

powered by finalsite